“Nothing Human Is Alien To Me.”

My intention is to say what I need to say and add meaningful, thought provoking dialogue to the world of endless information and opinions. My views are sometimes naive but I have found that naivete has value and adds perspective.

Naivete comes from a place of uninterrupted and uncorrupted thought. It is seen in children as innocence and in adults as idealistic. I am idealistic. I believe the biggest issues facing the majority of the world are solveable through thoughtful discourse, the respectful interchange of ideas that are applied to not only our own decisions but used to effect policy. I believe there is a standard of right and wrong that can be contributed to what we know about how humans function and what is considered human flourishing.

I believe human flourishing should be the gold standard behind all political, sociological and spiritual discourse. In its absence we see turmoil, inequality of opportunity and representation and the ignorance behind racism, ageism, and all means of social bias.

The fact that we can as humans consider our own lives under a template of what the world imposes and see where we are left out, let in, and where we need room to flourish means we can see it for others. Others need what you need. We all need the same things. We can do better. All lives matter. Let’s begin.

2 thoughts on ““Nothing Human Is Alien To Me.”

  1. Two quick suggestions:

    The size of the opening quote is too big; it dominates and overshadows your actual post.

    As you continue to write posts, now that you’ve explained yourself in this first one, I’d urge you to bring in specific happenings and examples to illustrate your points. When a writer sticks to general assertions, readers don’t have much to latch onto and can glaze over. But if you tell the story of a burning car or a shooting in North Carolina or a community garden in Ontario, then readers are IN.

    Like

    • You are so right! When I went back in I thought, whoa. Would that draw me in? I still feel so vulnerable with blogs. Funny since I did one in class and still write lengthy notes in Facebook. That was the reason I started the blog. To keep it here and not expound there. I seem to have endless things to say. I will be beginning my diologue on racism in our country and the Psychology behind why African Americans are not healing, not thriving. Thank you. You are very kind to come and see and give me some advice. I know you are busy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

